Owyhee Mountain Dendritic Jasper – New Find!!!!

I would like to introduce you to a new jasper recently discovered and being currently mined by Steve Schultz of Idaho .  I have a link to Steve’s website on our home page www.cascadegems.com.  Look under “Friends” for Silver Streams.  Steve is calling his new jasper Owyhee Mountain Dendritic Jasper.  I was able to purchase some of the rough from Steve at his house while purchasing his Owyhee Blue Opal and Carrasite rough.

At first glance to me, the new jasper looks like a combination of Chinese Dendritic Jasper from the Owyhee and Apache Sage Rhyolite from the desert southwest.  The colors present in this new material range from dark reddish purple to yellow.  The jasper is very solid, with great patterns that will make it very attractive to rock hounds.  I have only cut a few pieces of the rough so far, but all indications are it will be very good to work with and take a easy shine with cerium on leather.  I will tell you that as soon as I got home from the trip to Idaho and cut a couple of cabs, I emailed Steve and purchased more of the rough.

I have included a picture of the locale where Steve is mining this material WAY OUT in the Owyhee.  This picture will help you appreciate the amount of work involved and the investment required to bring this new jasper to market.  Steve tells me he will have the new jasper rough available in Tucson, during the gem show in early February.  He will be set up at The Rock Show in the Kino Sports Complex (aka) RV Electric Park in space F2.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment